Governance & Policy Project (GPP)

Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)

Federally Administered Tribal Areas

FATA comprises a group of small administrative units in the northwest of Pakistan, lying between the province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), Balochistan in the south, and the neighboring country of Afghanistan. It is spread over 27,220 sq km and has a population of 3,764,000. It comprises of seven tribal agencies and six frontier regions. The tribal agencies are Bajaur, Mohmand, Khyber, Orakzai, Kurram, North Waziristan and South Waziristan. The frontier regions include Bannu, Central Kurram, Dera Ismail Khan, Kohat, Lakki, Peshawar and Tank. These are directly controlled by the Governor of KP.

The seven Tribal Areas lie in a north-to-south strip that is adjacent to the west side of the six frontier regions, which also lie in a north-to-south strip. The areas within each of those two regions are geographically arranged in a sequence from north to south. The geographical arrangement of the seven tribal areas in order from north to south is Bajaur, Mohmand, Khyber, Orakzai, Kurram, North Waziristan, and South Waziristan. The geographical arrangement of the six frontier regions in order from north to south is Peshawar, Kohat, Bannu, Lakki Marwat, Tank, Dera Ismael Khan.

Key Facts:

  • Security remains a major concern and impediment to growth and development projects.
  • Mineral sector is very important as FATA is believed to have many minerals that can be mined easily.
  • Copper reserves in Mohmand and Waziristan are estimated at 25 million tons each.
  • Chromite and soap stone are found in Kurram while best quality coal is present in Kurram, Orakzai and F.R. Kohat.
  • Mohmand has vast reserves of marble that is considered among the best in the world; the initial estimate for it is seven billion tons.

Source: Insititute of Policy Studies, Pakistan.


You are here: Home Project Area FATA